27 May 2024 | General

Trans Am Field Locked in for First Tailem Bend Visit

The field for the Trico Trans Am Series’ first ever round at Shell V-Power Motorsport Park is locked in, with the battle between the established superstars and the incoming generation of Young Gun drivers to continue.

The full entry list can be found here.

James Golding leads the series in his maiden season, holding a slender 22 point margin over Garry Rogers Motorsport teammate and defending series winner James Moffat. The duo are closely shadowed by Jordan Boys just three points further adrift, with TFH Racing’s Todd Hazelwood and leading privateer Elliot Barbour (Pioneer DJ) completing the top five.

Shell V-Power Motorsport Park hosts round four of the 2024 season, which has seen four race winners and eight drivers on the podium across 10 races. Moffat swept the opening round at Sandown, while Boys and Golding shared the honours at Symmons Plains. Morris, Moffat and Golding all shared the spoils most recently at Phillip Island.

An exciting addition to the field is local South Australian driver Lee Stibbs, who will join the field for the first time in 2024, with one previous round under his belt (Sandown, 2023).

In the Young Gun battle, Elliott Cleary currently leads the way in his The Racing Academy Mustang. The 18-year-old took the Young Gun honours at the opening round, with the returning Nathan Herne taking it out in Tasmania. Morris’ outright victory earned him the Young Gun mantle at Phillip Island.

The previously announced entry of Brodie Kostecki has been delayed, but the Supercars Champion will still join the TFH Racing team at the circuit in a supporting capacity.

The action in Tailem Bend will take place on the West Circuit as part of the Shannons SpeedSeries, with the Trans Am field taking on four races in a return to the format seen at Symmons Plains.

A busy Friday will see the field on track three times, with a pair of 20-minute practice sessions preceding the fight for the Trico Pole Award at 4:05pm local time. Saturday and Sunday will both see two races apiece, with all four races live and free on 7plus.