5 May 2023 | General

Morris returns to Trans Am field for Phillip Island

NASH MORRIS will re-join an increasingly competitive Trans Am Series fight when the series resumes at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit next week. 

The Queenslander will race a Supercheap Auto-backed Ford Mustang in the second round of the series, one that already features many of his current or previous Supercars contemporaries.

Series leader James Moffat, who won the opening round at AWC Race Tasmania aboard his Team Valvoline GRM Mustang, leads the highly competitive Phillip Island field to the Shannons SpeedSeries event.

Moffat leads Tasmanian Lochie Dalton and Jaylyn Robotham into the second round of the series, with Owen Kelly and Brett Holdsworth just behind.

Dalton, who also races for GRM, said it was clear that the Trans Am game had been raised in season 2023.

“Coming out of Tassie, I think it was obvious that everyone had stepped it up a lot this year, we have got a few new teams and they are really taking it up to us here at GRM,” Dalton said.

“That means coming into the round, we were a little bit unsure; I knew it would be strong but then you’ve got the new teams right on our tails and outqualifying us.

“There are a lot of big names, Owen has had a very big career in America and in Australia and the same with the likes of Moffat, Brett Holdsworth and even Jaylyn is very experienced in Supercars.”

Newcomer Elliott Cleary makes his Trans Am Series debut at Phillip Island, stepping into the #19 The Racing Academy Mustang driven in Tasmania by Tim Slade.

Cleary, a graduate from Karting, was slightly too young to race in the opening round, with his debut to come this weekend instead alongside teammate Cody Gillis.

Meanwhile, Ben Grice returns in a brand-new Mustang following his major Symmons Plains crash.

The Trans Am Series will contest three races as part of the Shannons SpeedSeries event at Phillip Island on May 12-14.

Tickets for the second round of the SpeedSeries season are still available via

For those who are unable to make the trip to Phillip Island, Stan Sport will provide live and uninterrupted coverage from most of Saturday and Sunday’s action, while 9Gem will also broadcast three hours of Saturday afternoon’s racing.

The second round of the S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship kicks off at the Shannons SpeedSeries Phillip Island event on 12-14 May.


03 Outright All American Driveline Ben Grice VIC Ford Mustang 6200 Red/White/Blue
5 Outright The Racing Academy Cody Gillis WA Ford Mustang 6200 White
8 Hoosier Cup Wealth Rite Racing Chris Pappas QLD Ford Mustang 6200 White
19 Outright The Racing Academy Elliott Cleary NSW Ford Mustang 6200 White
23 Masters Cup Holinger Racing John Holinger VIC Chevrolet Camaro 6200 Black
27 Outright Dream Racing Australia Tyler Everingham NSW Chevrolet Camaro 6200 White
29 Outright The Racing Academy Jaylyn Robotham VIC Ford Mustang 6200 White
30 Outright Tom Hayman Motorsport Tom Hayman NSW Ford Mustang 6200 Yellow
34 Outright Team Valvoline GRM James Moffat VIC Ford Mustang 6200 Red
45 Outright AWC Lochie Dalton TAS Ford Mustang 6200 Black
67 Outright Supercheap Auto Racing Nash Morris QLD Ford Mustang 6200 Red
73 Outright Owen Kelly Motorsport Owen Kelly TAS Ford Mustang 6200 White
75 Outright Pioneer DJ Elliot Barbour VIC Chevrolet Camaro 6200 White
99 Outright TPS Group/Breeze Holiday Parks Brett Holdsworth VIC Chevrolet Camaro 6200 White/Green
116 Outright Sydney Property Care GRM Edan Thornburrow NSW Ford Mustang 6200 Black
200 Outright Dream Racing Australia / Auto Fix Joshua Webster TAS Chevrolet Camaro 6200 White
777 Masters Cup Dream Racing Australia Craig Scutella NSW Chevrolet Camaro 6200 Blue