28 January 2023 | General

The class structure of National Trans Am

The outright battle for the National Trans Am Series is vigorously fought, but there are also a further two classes ensuring a fierce fight is held throughout the field producing the great racing the category has earnt a reputation for.

First of all, Outright is the where the battle for the National Trans Am Series title is held, with drivers in previous years including Tim Brook, Owen Kelly, Brett Holdsworth, Nash Morris and two-time series winner Nathan Herne featuring.

Behind the battle for Outright, the Hoosier Cup is designed to recognise high-performing privateer teams or drivers, but still can battle for the overall title. All drivers contesting the Hoosier Cup are seeded based on previous performances in national rounds or domestic race meetings at the discretion of the category management.

If a Hoosier Cup driver qualifies or finishes a race more than three times in the top three during the season, they will only qualify for the Outright class.

Hugh McAlister was the class winner last year and finished an impressive eighth in the outright standings demonstrating how high quality the competition is in the Hoosier Cup.

Finally, the Masters Cup is for all drivers aged 45 years or older, with these drivers still eligible for Outright and Hoosier Cup points depending on their seeding.

Last season was a tightly contested affair as Mark Crutcher took the class from Dream Racing Australia’s Craig Scutella. Both finished just outside the top 10 further emphasising the performances of the class.

All classes are recognised at the end of every round as the top three of each class receive a trophy.

The opening round of the National Trans Am Series is at AWC Race Tasmania on February 24-26. CLICK HERE to secure your tickets.

Stan Sport will provide live, uninterrupted and on-demand coverage of all SpeedSeries rounds. AWC Race Tasmania will also feature free-to-air broadcasting on the Nine Network’s digital channels on Saturday afternoon from 2-5pm (February 25).

All seven rounds of the National Trans Am Series will be broadcast live and ad-break free on Stan Sport. CLICK HERE to secure your 7-day free trial.