25 May 2022 | General

Quality Turtle Wax Trans Am field prepares to race into the night in Sydney

A high-quality 25-car field will contest Turtle Wax Trans Am Series debut at this weekend’s Sydney round of the SpeedSeries, in conjunction with the Shannons Motorsport Australia Championships.

Making his debut at the meeting is another second-generation racer in the form of Zach Bates, who moves across from the Toyota Gazoo Racing Australia 86 Series as he follows a pathway forged by frontrunners Tim Brook, Ben Grice and Nic Carroll.

To keep updated with Turtle Wax Trans Am like us on Facebook and to view the latest images follow our Instagram.

Bates will race a Ford Mustang he shares with his uncle Nicholas and has tested successfully at Wakefield Park and Sydney Motorsport Park.

Returning to the field are Mike Rowell in his Pacific Petroleum/Carroll Tyres Ford Mustang and Tim Shaw in his Chevrolet Camaro.

Just 17-points separate Valvoline Team GRM’s Nathan Herne and Tim Brook in his Wall Racing Ford Mustang heading to the latter’s home round.

After podium finishes at Bathurst, Garry Rogers Motorsport’s Owen Kelly remains in touch as does Ashley Seward Motorsport driver Brett Holdsworth in the TPS Group/Breeze Holiday Park Chevrolet Camaro.

Others expected to be in contention include Kyle Gurton, Jon McCorkindale, Edan Thornburrow, Lachie Dalton, Jett Johnson, Elliot Barbour, Cody Burcher and Nash Morris.

Turtle Wax Trans Am will contest its second race into the night at Sydney Motorsport Park – a first for the category – with three races to be held across the weekend live, on-demand and uninterrupted on Stan Sport.

Also the weekend’s second race under lights will form part of 9Gem’s two-hour live coverage on Saturday evening.

Stan is offering 7-day free trials. Sign up now to watch all of the SpeedSeries action this weekend >>

International viewers can watch the action via

To be trackside at Sydney Motorsport Park, CLICK HERE for tickets.

# Class Sponsor Driver State Model
1 Outright Team Valvoline GRM Nathan Herne NSW Ford Mustang
2 Outright Micale Cabinets/Nuveau Group Kyle Gurton QLD Ford Mustang
03 Outright All American Driveline Ben Grice VIC Ford Mustang
4 Masters Cup Crutcher Developments Mark Crutcher NSW Ford Mustang
6 Hoosier Cup McAlister Motors Hugh McAlister NSW Ford Mustang
8 Hoosier Cup Wealth Rite Racing Chris Pappas QLD Ford Mustang
15 Masters Cup Pacific Petroleum/Carroll Tyres Michael Rowell QLD Ford Mustang
23 Masters Cup Holinger Racing John Holinger VIC Ford Mustang
24 Hoosier Cup Sullivans/MBSFM Zach Bates ACT Ford Mustang
27 Outright Pioneer DJ Elliot Barbour VIC Chevrolet Camaro
33 Hoosier Cup Team Boley Racing Brock Boley WA Chevrolet Camaro
36 Outright PBS Specialty Coatings Cody Burcher NSW Ford Mustang
37 Outright Dream Racing Australia Jackson Rice VIC Dodge Challenger
38 Outright Andrew Miedecke Ford/Wall Racing Tim Brook NSW Ford Mustang
45 Outright Up 2/11 Motorsport GRM Lochie Dalton TAS Ford Mustang
48 Outright Nic Carroll Motorsport Nic Carroll VIC Dodge Challenger
66 Masters Cup Shaw Motorsport Tim Shaw TAS Chevrolet Camaro
67 Outright Supercheap Auto Nash Morris QLD Ford Mustang
69 Outright Dial Before You Dig John McCorkindale NSW Ford Mustang
73 Outright Owen Kelly Motorsport Owen Kelly TAS Ford Mustang
88 Hoosier Cup Ownit Homes/Superior Jetties John Harris QLD Ford Mustang
99 Outright TPS Group/Breeze Holiday Parks Brett Holdsworth VIC Chevrolet Camaro
116 Outright Sydney Property Group Edan Thornburrow NSW Ford Mustang
117 Hoosier Cup Team Johnson Jett Johnson QLD Ford Mustang
777 Masters Cup Dream Racing Australia Craig Scutella NSW Chevrolet Camaro